Public Notice

The West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) is offering an opportunity for public comment, and will hold a public hearing, on the Proposed Marshall, WV Nonattainment Area SO2 Base Year (2011) Emission Inventory.

On August 5, 2013, EPA published final nonattainment area designations for the 2010 1-hour SO2 NAAQS (78 FR 47191). The Marshall, WV area, comprised of the Clay, Franklin and Washington Tax Districts, was designated nonattainment based upon the 2009-2011 design value of 78 ppb. Clean Air Act Section 172(c)(3) requires the submittal of a comprehensive, accurate, current inventory of actual emissions from all sources of the relevant pollutant or pollutants in the nonattainment area. The relevant pollutant with respect to the 2010 1-hour SO2 NAAQS is sulfur dioxide. DEP is expressly soliciting comment on whether the proposed inventory meets the requirements of CAA Section 172(c)(3). The comment period will begin March 27, 2015 and end on April 27, 2015.

DEP is requesting that the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) approve the 2011 SO2 inventory for the Marshall, WV nonattainment area as meeting the requirements of Clean Air Act Section 172(c)(3), a required element of the State Implementation Plan (SIP).

Written and oral comments will be accepted until the close of the public hearing and will be made part of the formal record. The public hearing shall be held beginning at 6:00 p.m. on Tuesday, April 27, 2015 at the DEP Northern Panhandle Regional Office: 131A Peninsula Street, Wheeling, WV 26003. Written comments will also be accepted for inclusion in the formal record by mail, facsimile (304-926-0479), e-mail:
or other delivery to the Division of Air Quality if received by the close of business on April 27, 2015. Send written comments to be included in the formal record to William F. Durham, Director, Division of Air Quality at 601 57th Street, SE, Charleston, WV 25304. Please identify the document to which the comments apply, the commenter’s name, address and telephone number.

Copies of the proposed SIP revision and documentation may be viewed on weekdays between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. at the Division of Air Quality, 601 57th Street, SE, Charleston, WV 25304 and at the DEP Northern Panhandle Regional Office at the address above. The relevant documents may also be accessed via the following web address:
Int. March 27, 2015